Using skills

Published by

on

I have participated in the Artists Standing Strong Together (ASST) Community Gatherings for over a year – a group I strongly recommend joining if you are an artist and/or interested in the arts, particularly storytelling. During this time I have gone from being a listener to becoming a co-facilitator and then joining a production crew for one of the monthly events. Recently I have joined the “bridge” Board as we develop a plan to recruit the new Board. The first Board created ASST and its non-profit status and has been running everything for the past three years (and are ready for new blood).

My progression stemmed from putting my accumulated occupational therapy and educator skills to new use. Using Zoom was my OT program’s way of pivoting during the pandemic, so assisting ASST in tech was natural. Wanting to help fundraise, hopefully through Grants, was an application of my background skills. Finally, I actually like formatting documents and there was room for that skill to be put to use. In exchange, I get some structure into my retired life. Definitely a win-win situation.

Leave a comment