Posted by: otstoryteller | February 19, 2017

Critical thinking (CT)

At least a year ago I found myself saying “You’re never to old to make the wrong decision” and then forced myself to change the self-talk because it sounded so negative (and I surely didn’t want to compound the problem).  I find myself revisiting the statement lately. (That is purely a personal toss-out; not the main topic of this post. I guess I’m sharing so you know you are not alone if you recognize the statement.)

I am finally finishing “Thinking Fast and Slow” by D. Kahneman, thanks to a book club on campus. This book is teaching me that, like most humans, I do too much System One, quick think when I really need to parse out and appraise what is important. It is just so challenging to do, most of the time. However, it is fascinating to discover that even more disciplines than education, philosophy, and psychology actually analyze critical thinking. Kahneman won a Nobel Prize in economics.

For a number of years I have been working with small groups of people to determine the best ways to teach critical thinking within occupational therapy (and medicine, and other disciplines) and while there is a lot of agreement, there is also the concept that critical thinking is discipline specific, so ‘must’ be defined differently depending upon context.

When considering clinical reasoning it expands the issue exponentially. Some people do not separate the concepts, others do. I am in the later camp.

I am still seeking answers. Please feel free to weigh in on whether you believe  CT is distinct within OT and, if so, what makes it unique.

Leave a Reply

Categories

